Education Inquiry – Advisory Council

Sunday, 14 July 2013

An Advisory Council of around 40 leading experts and interested parties in the education field will meet at three key moments within the Inquiry over its 12 months existence to shape and direct its work. The Advisory Council will be chaired by Dame Jane Roberts – a distinguished thinker and policy practitioner. More information on the remit of the Council can be found here. Below is the council list- we are working on getting representation from students and children.

The Council:

  • Chair: Dame Jane Roberts
  • Sir Alasdair MacDonald – Former Headteacher of Morpeth School
  • Alex Kenny – Teacher, Stepney Green Maths & Computing College, Tower Hamlets, London
  • Anna Prescott – StudentVoice
  • Anne Swift – Head teacher, Gladstone Road Infant School, Scarborough
  • Baljeet Ghale – Former NUT President
  • Prof Becky Francis – Professor of Education and Social Justice, Kings College London
  • Ben Lucas – Director, 2020 Public Services Trust, RSA
  • Colin Richards – Emeritus Professor University of Cumbria and former senior HMI
  • David Butler OBE – Executive President PTA UK
  • Prof. Sir Eric Thomas – Vice Chancellor, Universtiy of Bristol
  • Emma Knights – Chief Executive, National Governors’ Association
  • Prof Diane Reay – Professor of Education, Cambridge University
  • Fiona Millar – Journalist and campaigner on education and parenting issues
  • Geethika Jayatilaka – Director, Parent Gym and Governor, Brecknock Primary School, Camden, London
  • Hazel Danson – Teacher, Clough Head Junior & Infant School, Huddersfield
  • Hilary Emery – Chief Executive, National Children’s Bureau
  • Hilary Cottam – Principle Partner, Participle
  • Huw Evans – Former Principal, Coleg Llandrillo Cymru, Colwyn Bay, North Wales and Chair of Qualifications Wales
  • Prof John Howson – Managing Director,
  • Dr Jonathan Carr-West – Chief Executive, LGIU
  • Judith Blake – Deputy Leader and Lead Executive Member Children’s Services, Leeds Council
  • Kate Frood – Head teacher, Eleanor Palmer Primary School, Camden, London
  • Prof Ken Spours – Professor of Education, IoE
  • Luke Shore – StudentVoice
  • Martin Pratt – Corporate Director for Children and Learning, Luton Borough Council
  • Mervyn Wilson – Chief Executive and Princpal, Co-operative Colleg
  • Prof Miriam E David – Professor Emerita of Education, Institute of Education, University of London,
  • Neil Carberry – Director, Employment and Skills, CBI
  • Pam Tatlow – Chief Executive, million+
  • Pasi Sahlberg – Director General, Centre for International Mobility and Cooperation, Finland
  • Pat Glass MP – Education Select Committee Member
  • Paul Cottrell – National Head of Public Policy, UCU
  • Pauline Trudell – Vice President, National Campaign for Real Nursery Education
  • Peter Downes – Cambridgeshire Councillor and Vice President, Liberal Democrat Education Association
  • Peter John – Leader, Southwark Council and London Councils’ Executive Member for Children’s Services and Skills and Employment
  • Dr Phil Cross – Head teacher, Hurlingham and Chelsea School, Hammersmith, London
  • Rachel Roberts – Director, Phoenix Education Trust
  • Tim Brighouse – Former Schools Commissioner for London
  • Tom Wilson – Director, Unionlearn, TUC
  • Toni Pearce – President, NUS
  • Warwick Mansell – Education Journalist
  • Sir William Atkinson- Former Headteacher Phoenix High School
  • Yasmin Rufo – National Executive, StudentVoice

Topics discussed:


Share this post